February 2018 – Dropped Card

(Based On Ruling at EBL Workshop 2018)

Whilst removing the cards from the board, East accidently drops the ♠J onto the table. The Director is called.

The Director – of some reasonable experience – has come across this not infrequent situation many times before, and ‘knows’ that this is a Law 24 ruling (Exposed Card). He states that the card must be left on the table, and partner (West) is to be silent at his next turn (major penalty card). Moreover should East/West become defenders, the ♠J is a penalty card, and he would later clarify that situation should it arise.